time with our GOD

Something I have been struggling with lately is spending consistent, alone time with God in the morning. Some how along the way I started sleeping later, starting work earlier and before I knew it our time special time together has become rare. I talk to God a lot during the day but nothing can replace that quiet alone time with Him.

Yesterday, I was involved in a conversation with some others that were struggling with this same issue. We were talking back and forth about why it is hard and how we get so busy. I just began to listen after a while. As I listened I thought….what a small god we serve. How have we reduced God to some pathetic puppy dog like figure when we say we “struggle to find time to spend with him.” Our God is great! He is the creator of the Universe! He is Lord of Lords and King of Kings. He allows us to speak to Him! Our forefather did not take this for granted! Look at the Jews in the Old Testament. The Holy of Hollies was the place God meet with man. The priest would wear a rope around his ankle so that if they were struck dead in the Presence of God others could pull him out with the rope, never entering or defiling that place. Have we lost our reverence for our God?! I know I have. I love Jesus. I love that He is so intimate…but He is also the LORD!

My only point is that if this is the God we serve….

He covers His hand with the lightning; And commands it to strike the mark. Its noise declares His presence;” Job 36:32-33

“Understand that I am He, Before Me there was no God formed, And there will be none after Me.” Isaiah 43:10

“I am the Lord, the maker of all things, Stretching out the heavens by Myself And spreading out the earth all alone,” Isaiah 44:24

“Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh; is there anything to difficult for Me?” Jeremiah 32:26

“The Lord your God is in your midst, A victorious warrior. He will exult over you with joy, He will be quiet in His love, He will rejoice over you with shouts of joy.” Zephaniah 3:17

“I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” Jeremiah 31:3

should we not just be humbled that He wants to be with us?

Leave a Reply

