the accident…

We have been answering calls all day. I thought I would blog about the wreck so as just to tell the story once.

I can’t legally say what happened before but Mark and I were “t-boned” on Thursday. We had just left Mark’s parent’s house to tell them we were having a boy. The accident happened really fast. It is kind of a blur but from what I understand, there is no reason Mark and I walked away from that car…especially Mark. The other car hit Mark’s side. Upon impact Mark turned to cover me and the baby, which ended up saving him from breaking his legs or left arm. I stood up which ended up leaving me really bruised but leaving the baby a space in between the seat belts.

We were both taken to the hospital. We had a special room called “H-1” and “H-2”. That’s a nice way of saying, we were in the hallway: ) They took me in to get an ultrasound to check on the baby. I was terrified. I had not felt the baby since the accident and feared the worst. When she first put the camera thing on my stomach and braced myself for what I felt was inevitable. Trey is an active on during ultra sounds so when I saw him lying still in my whomb my heart sank. After a couple of second, however, he reached up his little arm as if to wave at me. I, of coarse, broke into tears of joy. We saw his heart beat, check all his limbs and checked my fluids. Everything was good. I have no doubt God had His hand on our baby!

Mark and I were both x-rayed and turns out we have not broken bones, just bruises. They gave Mark some good drugs. He was fun at the hospital, just ask his family or Doug : ) We got home around ten. It was a really long day!

We are sore but are thankful that is all. Like I said, there is no reason we made it out of our car. Let me just say how blessed we are to have such a loving family and church family! We have some amazing friends who have volunteered to bring us dinner for a week. We didn’t think it was necessary but it sure has been nice. We love you guys!

Like I said, God had His hand on our car. He alone protected us. It just does not make sense how we made it! He must have a plan for us?! More than anything, he must have a plan for our baby. He is a tough little guy. I have never been more scared in my life than yesterday. I had no idea if he was alright and there was nothing I could do. I felt so helpless. As I was lying in the ambulance, I gave Trey over to the Lord. I had no choice but to surrender. I guess God knows I need extreme situations to let go and give God control (He did something similar with Mark). I realized too that you never know how much you love someone until you almost loose them. It doesn’t even make sense how much I love this little boy. I have never even met him : ) But I do. Every mother I have talked to says it is a “mom thing”. : )

Anyway, we are all doing well. We are just really sore and in some pain. We appreciate everyone’s prayers and support! We love you all!

img00007.jpg

3 Comments on “the accident…”

  1. Heidi says:

    I am so glad you are all ok. My heart is so grateful for God’s protection on the Tanner family! God has again been gracious & shown His lovingkindness toward His children. I’m praying God will provide another car that is perfect for you guys! 🙂

  2. scrabblenut says:

    We are sooo glad you guys are okay!

  3. Debbie Melendez says:

    Oh Trisha! I am so glad you are all O.K.! I think that God does allow these kinds of things to happen as a reminder, that #1 He is in control, and #2 That He DOES have plans for us.


Leave a Reply

