Nursery…

Yesterday I had a break down in Walmart. Mark and I were discussing what we needed to do to get ready to put the house up for sale. He suggested keeping the guest bedroom as a guest bedroom and putting all of Trey’s accumulating things in my parent’s basement. As soon as he said that it hit a cord, tears weld up in my eyes and I informed him that was not happening! Trey’s stuff will be staying at our house! I began to cry uncontrollably for some reason and Mark apologized. He said he did not realize it was that big of a deal. Truth be told I didn’t realize it was that big of a deal either.

I love that we already have some things for our baby. We have some little outfits and some books and toys. I have even started buying wipes and diapers. I get so excited to buy these things. I am enjoying it because I know this will very soon pass : ) I love to go sit in our guest bedroom and look through all his things. I love catching a glimpse of them as I walk upstairs. I love the idea of buying diapers and wipes because I really do need them. I have been told you can never have enough : ). The hardest (and dumbest) hangup I have over this move is that I will not be able to make his nursery before he gets here. I love all the little preparations that take place to remind me that he is coming soon!

I was thinking today…. I wonder if God is the same way. I believe we are made in God’s image. I also believe different parts of His image were given to men and women. In the Bible it says, Jesus went away to prepare a place for us (John 14:2). Do you think He prepares in a similar way that an expectant mom does? Do you think He sits in our room or whatever and thinks about what it will be like to have us there with Him? Do you think He love just the idea that our “stuff” is close by because it reminds Him that we will be with Him soon?

He created love. He created joy and anticipation. He wove together a “mother’s heart”. Surly He must love us and desire to truly be with us more than we can imagine!

“Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to you children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!” -Matt 7:10-11

 
   
   
One Comment on “Nursery…”

  1. monica says:

    Awwww…… I can’t imagine how you must feel. We have been buying stuff for almost 9 years and it’s finally all spread out in our nursery. Dad painted the walls, well the top 1/3. Last weekend Dad & Andy moved furniture in there and just this morning while I was at work Dad came and put the crib together. Keep in mind, we still aren’t even fully approved. 😉

    You’re family is headed for an amazing adventure, God’s timing is indeed perfect and I love where you went with this post. I never thought about God preparing for us like that, but he loves us more than anything we can imagine. What an awesome thought.


Leave a Reply

