Satisfied?

When I fed them, they were satisfied; when they were satisfied, they became proud; then they forgot me.” -Hosea 13:6

Francis Chan spoke about this verse in his blog the other day. I love the book of Hosea! It is my favorite. I love the story and I think it is a beautiful picture of God’s relentless love for His people. I am way too often the harlot that is described in this book.

This particular passage has hit me. “When they were satisfied, they became proud; then they forgot me.” I must confess something…over the last couple of months I have been dealing with “frustration with God”. That is a nice way of saying I have been mad. God has called me to do some things that are not very comfortable and in my eyes don’t make sense. I think I am very “satisfied” right where I am. I live in a great house, in a safe area, with my family less that 10 minutes away on both sides. Mark has a wonderful job with a good, steady income. We have amazing friends and a wonderful church family. I love my job. I really love life right now… just the way things are. I moved many times growing up and it has been nice to finally settle in somewhere!

God has “fed” me and I have grown satisfied and in many ways forgotten Him. So He is moving us…to Savannah. Why? Is God apposed to me being happy? Does He not want His people to be “satisfied”? Is there something wrong with living too close to family and friends?

I read on in chapter 13 and 14. God gets really mean and talks about how He will rip His people away from the things they are satisfied in. He then calls for them to repent. “Return, O Israel, to the LORD your God. Your sins have been your downfall!” -Hosea 14:1. I think the thing I have forgotten is this: God longs for us to be satisfied…but satisfied in Him. These other things don’t really work or last or truly and completely satisfy.

Then comes to good part that I am clinging too right now. “I will heal their waywardness and love them freely, for my anger has turned away from them.” -Hosea 14: 4. Isn’t that beautiful? “I will…love them freely” I want that more than I want any temporary comfort my life provides me right now. If there is one thing in life I have realized it is that God’s love is better.

I am learning each day about the love of a parent. I love my son, Trey, more than I could describe to anyone. It is weird because I do not know him and have never seen him. But I just do. I don’t even know why. I can’t imagine how much more it will grow! The more I learn about God, the more I realize how much He really is and loves like a Father. I am seeing that even though I don’t understand Him and sometimes His actions do not make sense to me, He acts in love. It is His desire, just as it is mine for my baby, to love His child freely.

Leave a Reply

