Down in the Dumps

So I have a tiny bit of melancholy in my mostly sanguine/choleric out going personality. If I am left alone too long the melancholy in me comes out. I start to think too much and analyze my life etc. Sometimes this can be a bad thing. Slowly but surely everything, even if it is good, can turn horrible. I reside myself to the fact that the world is dark and dreary and nothing good is going on. Okay maybe that is a little exaggeration, but you get the point.

So Wednesday night I couldn’t sleep. I got up and was fed up with my dreary disposition. I decided it was time to do something : ) I got this idea that really was God inspired and helped me think through and process all my “feelings”.

I got out a piece of paper and drew a line down the middle. Psalm 55:22 says to “Cast your burden upon the Lord”. On the left side of the paper I wrote “My burdens” and literally “cast” my burdens by writing them down. For an example, one of them was our house. So I wrote “the house” and then every little feeling, doubt, or concern I had with the house under it. It felt really good to just get it all outside of my heart and head and on to paper.

On the right side I then wrote “Truth”. This side is a work in progress. This week as I have come across different scripture, I write it down beside the “burden”. I then took another piece of paper and cut it in half (hot dog fold) and wrote, “Rejoice in the Lord always”. On this sheet of paper I wrote all the good things about that burden or things I could praise God for in that area of my life. I found not matter what burden I had listed I always had at least three “praise worthy” things to list on that sheet of paper.

My Bible listed “burdens” as meaning “what He has given you”. I found this very interesting. God has given me this “burden” to in turn cast upon Him. Once again He is teaching me to walk with Him and trust Him.

This exercise helped me tremendously! I hope sharing it will help you too! It is so good to get things down on paper! Nothing has changed as far as my circumstances go but my mind and heart have changed!

** I put a link to a personality quiz at the top. It is so freeing to understand your temperament and personality. It helps you understand why you do the things you do! Another great resource on that type thing is the book “Why you Do the Things You Do” .

3 Comments on “Down in the Dumps”

  1. Heidi says:

    I second that recommendation on that book!

  2. heiditheophilus says:

    All the negative aspects of my temperaments come out when fatigue… I imagine growing a little leach within also wears you out & would invoke a bit of melancholy that comes out with being tired.

  3. shellygarvin says:

    I love you and God is up to something BIG. We have to focus on the Truth!

    It is time for to you blog…when I see the title of this blog, I get worried about you even though I know what it is about 🙂


Leave a Reply

