Jumping in…

Last year, when my cat was still a curious little kitten, she had a fascination with the bath tub. Every time I would run the water or get in she would be on the edge. She (well at the time we thought “she” was a “he” but that is a whole other story : ) would peer over in to the water, bat it with her paw, and even try to drink it.

One night her curiosity got the best of her. I was sitting on the edge of the tub reading, soaking my feet, which I often do : ). She jumped up on the edge of the tub, looked at me, looked back at the water and then jumped… and I mean she jumped. That was probably the funniest part of it all. She did not slip and fall or ease into the water. She jumped! Of coarse when she hit the water she freaked out! Cats do not mix well with water and she found this out the hard way. After clawing my leg and finding her way back on dry ground, she found herself to be a furry, wet mess!

God teaches me things in funny ways. Later that night I was laughing just thinking about the whole thing and God spoke to me. He said, “You are just like her.” At that point in my life, I had jumped into a ministry and business situation and had gotten in way over my head. When I “hit the water” so to speak, I freaked out too! As it turns out it was not the direction God wanted me to go in. I could not see that when I was splashing to keep my head above “water”.

There is something to be said for resting and waiting. I believe there are times in life when you just have to jump in with both feet and not look back. There are, however, times when God wants to slowly bring us into something with a rested body, whole heart, and fulfilled spirit. Being the worker that I naturally am, I used to think there was something wrong with rest…but there’s not… in fact it is commanded in the Bible.

Right now we are waiting on God’s timing with Savannah. We are resting, waiting and it is good! I would have jumped in and moved down the day we were called if I could have. That would have been very bad. It is just so good to finish what God has called us to do here, prepare for what God has for us do there, and rest up a little bit!

God is good! Trust His timing!

One Comment on “Jumping in…”

  1. monica says:

    Your story is right on target & I so appreciate it!! On a lighter note, I had a feline furry friend FALL into the tub with me… while I was in there….not pretty!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

