Summer Reading…

I have had a lot of time to read lately. I am not a huge reader. I don’t read for pleasure. I have to be reading for a purpose otherwise I get bored. I am also one of those weird people who read like three and four books at a time. Once again, I get bored with just one. It depends on what mood I am in as to what I read.

I always have a book that kind of themes what God taught me that summer. I thought I would share and recommend some books I have read during the summer over the last couple of years….

This summer I have been reading “Walking with God” by John Eldredge. I am almost finished and this one has been great!  He takes you through a practical journey of what it means to talk to God on a daily basis. John is very open and honest about his relationship with God. It is an easy read. You feel as if you are sitting at Starbucks having coffee with a friend.

Last summer, I read through Donald Miller’s Blue like Jazz. I heard him speak at a conference last summer and decided I had to get one of his books. Once again this one is an easy read. Each chapter is unique and he freely writes with little structure. I really enjoyed the book though. He made me think. I don’t know if I agreed with him 100% but I love to read things or listen to people who stretch me outside of my comfort zone. This book is an authentic and unique conversation about Christianity.

In the summer of 2006, I read Making Room for Life by Randy Frazee. If there is any book that changed my perspective on family, community and the church this is it! His ideas are at times idealistic but as a whole the principles out lined have the potential to transform and truly “make room for life”. Mark is reading this book now and has been blogging about it here.

In 2005, I read what is now my favorite book Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. The book is (some what) modern twist on the book of Hosea. Hosea is my favorite book of the Bible and Francine Rivers brings the truths of this book to life in a beautiful way! I have few words but to say this book was amazing! I finished it a little over a week at 4:30 in the morning. It is one of those books you can’t put down. If you have not read it… go and get it today!

These are just a few great ones I thought I might recommend. Happy reading!

One Comment on “Summer Reading…”

  1. jt money says:

    you’s be a dork! All these books you’s be reading…you’s be missing out on the best author (sorry God)–James Patterson!

    So, how’s be bed rest? having fun laying around?


Leave a Reply

