Rest…

This word has haunted me over the last three years. It is especially haunting me right now as I am on bed rest awaiting the arrival of our first baby. It has been two weeks into this venture that it finally occurred to me that I might should ask God what He wanted to do with this down time I was now facing.

I thought maybe there is some exciting project I could work on while down… maybe I could help Mark get some things rolling and on paper for Canvas, maybe I need to try to devour every parenting book there is …. maybe that’s why God hasn’t allowed Trey to come yet…. I need to be better prepared.  So I threw the question out there to God and waited. The weekend came and went and I forgot I asked Him about it. Then this morning God answered me… not in a way I expected… in fact I thought it was my husband’s voice resonating in my ear because he has said this many times before….

God simply said … “I want you to rest and I want you to enjoy it.

Why is it so hard for me to accept the fact #1 that rest is good and #2 that sometimes God simply wants to bring joy into our lives? I forget so many times that God is my Father. He acts out of love. The other day I came across a passage in Deuteronomy. It reminded me of the gentle and caring nature of God.

“For the Lord’s portion is his people, Jacob his allotted inheritance. In a desert land he found him, in a barren and howling waste. He shielded him and cared for him; he guarded him as the apple of his eye,” Deuteronomy 32:10

One Comment on “Rest…”

  1. Kim Smith says:

    I too have had to enjoy bedrest. With Kaylee I was on complete bedrest for 21 weeks. I remember thinking, ‘enjoy this time because after that baby comes you will not have the time to just REST ‘. What an awesome opportunity you have to enjoy the day. I looked at each day as one day closer to seeing Kaylee. At the time Connor was 2 years old and so I had to rely on Chuck, my mother and friends to help me. I have always been the type to do everything and had to have my hand in it all. From taking care of Connor to CLEANING the house. What helped my sanity was I couldn’t leave my room so I didn’t have to look at the rest of the house. While I was resting for those 21 weeks God taught me that with HIS strength I CAN do anything. I didn’t know at the time but He spoke to many of my friends through me. They would tell me what a blessing it was to hear me being so positive. Many people ask me how I did it and I reply that my God was sufficient!!
    Just enjoy each day and know God has given you a blessing to just REST!!

    In His Strength,
    Kim


Leave a Reply

