“This is the Good Life”

There is an old Audio Adrenaline song called, “Good Life.” The chorus says this:

This is the good life
I’ve lost everything
I could ever want
And ever dream of
This is the good life
I found everything
I could ever need
Here in Your arms

I have felt like we were living this song this week. On this journey to Savannah, we have lost just about everything. I mean over the last year God has pried many things that I loved dearly from my hands to lay at his feet in surrender (job, school, friends and family). And then here we are… last week we realized we were in vast need of coming up with some money. God called us and Mark valiantly lead us to literally sell everything that had some sort of monetary value to come up with the price. (Which by the way…we have sold nothing but Lord knows we are earnestly trying and waiting for Him to come through!!!) What little was left in my hands was poured out again for the cost of His calling.

But you know what? It feels good. At first I was embarrassed to even admit we were doing this… because its weird… but can I just tell you how freeing it is to literally let go of everything you’ve got…down to your wedding China?! It is just good to have nothing between God and I … no stuff anyway. I look back and realize he has slowly been leading me to surrender throughout this whole process. Surrender is freeing really. You wouldn’t think so but it is.

I like that last part of the chorus. “Here in your arms.” I feel as if I have nothing right now but hope. Hope in God, in what He is doing and hope He will come through. But I feel close to Him… in his arms close… and really that is better.

Yield now and be at peace with Him; Thereby good will come to you. “Please receive instruction from His mouth And establish His words in your heart.”If you return to the Almighty, you will be restored ; If you remove unrighteousness far from your tent, And place your gold in the dust, And the gold of Ophir of the brooks, Then the Almighty will be your gold And choice silver to you.“For then you will delight in the Almighty And lift up your face to God. ….” among the stones Job 22:21-26

Leave a Reply

