Excellent Wife

Came across this the other day…
“An excellent wife is the crown of her husband, But she who shames him is like rottenness in his bones.” -Proverbs 12:4
I love looking up the original meanings to words. I am a nerd. I looked up excellent and found something different than I thought:

virtuous: chayll: force, whether of men, means or other resources; an army, wealth or virtue, valor, strength-able, activity, army, band of soldiers, company, forces good, host, might, power, riches, strength, strong, substance, train + valiant, valor, virtuous, war, worthy.

The “excellent” wife refereed to in the Bible is not some wimpy woman vacuuming all day in high heels. She is a warrior! Strong and virtuous! She protects her husband! She is active and has some ‘substance’ for crying out loud! : ) I am visual. According to this definition, I see a woman surrounding her husband (like a band of soldiers) with prayer, love, support and encouragement!
And because of these things, her man can hold his head high…. as if wearing a crown! He is stronger and more confident because of his “excellent” wife.

…wow I really have some “training” to do! This one pierces right to the heart. I want to be a “crown” and not “rottenness to Mark’s bones”.

4 Comments on “Excellent Wife”

  1. Bethany says:

    Wow. I am encouraged by this verse and your image. I am going to work on being this kind of wife to my husband. I can’t wait to tell him about it. Thanks for giving me something to think about today.

  2. citystreams says:

    That’s really neat! How did you find that? Was it a website or a concordance? I am a nerd too. I want to look up words! :o)

    I always thought that the word meant “perfect” and it seemed like an impossible standard. The virtuous woman you’ve described sounds much better. Thanks for giving me something to think about today too!

  3. citystreams says:

    PS – My smiley face that looks like this : o ) always gets converted to this :o)

  4. I have a Greek-Hebrew Key Word Study Bible. You can also find that kind of stuff on blueletterbible.com or crosswalk.com. They have key word searches.
    Yeah, I thought it was along the lines of perfect too…. kind of like the Prvb 31 woman…. but I guess not! There is hope for us all : )


Leave a Reply

