Luke 14:26

“If anyone comes to me and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brothers and sisters–yes, even his own life–he cannot be my disciple.” – Luke 14:26
This verse has always perplexed me. I don’t know why but lately it has been coming to mind. I wish I could say the Greek word for hate is something pretty and nice…. but its not… its the word hate. I can not apologize for God’s Word.
Taken into context I believe it to mean Jesus must be your everything. No one must come before him… not family, friends ect.
It is harsh Truth.
But God has shown me over the last month that my husband has a good grasp on this one.
I know he loves God first.
Why?
Because if he loved Trey and I more, we would still be back in Atlanta. He would be working at his old job making a wonderful salary, climbing the corporate ladder. We would live comfortably in a big house, new cars, a larger emergency fund, investments and maybe even a growing college fund for Trey (These things are nice things but search God’s Word and hear his heart and trust me you will not find safe living as a part of his plan).
If he loved his own life more I doubt he would go to work at 6am every morning to go do lawn work with “amigos” to make some money for our family. There is no self glory in lawn maintenance. It has been a very humbling experience.
Instead he loves Jesus most. We have followed God’s call to minister here in Savannah. Mark took a huge pay cut and works on a lawn maintenance crew at a local golf club to make ends meet. He works full time there and also works for the church. He does and awesome job with “Journey stuff” and works with all his heart. He may not love Trey and I more than Jesus but there is no greater love than that grounded in Christ! None more satisfying and secure.
I know my husband loves Jesus more. He hears His call and although is my be scary and humiliating, he has lead our family into a journey of trusting God and walking by faith. I am so proud of him. I know one day in heaven God will call him a good and faithful servant. I feel privileged to be married to someone who “gets it” and has chosen to love Jesus with all he has.
4258_86779521047_510406047_1966986_150583_n

Leave a Reply

