We are rich!

The past few months have been financially tight for us….. really really tight! We are making it though.
Sometimes I feel like the money stuff is suffocating me! Why does money do that? It becomes so real and overwhelming I seem to loose sight of everything else! I get so zoomed in on the problem I forget what all is around me.
This week, although our circumstances have not changed, I feel like God has allowed me to gain some perspective.
I think God is not pleased when we go around whining about money and how we don’t have enough. If you live in America, have a car, a house, clothes in your closet and food on your table…. you are NOT poor!!! There are people in this world who are poor, but if you have the thins listed above, you are rich indeed! I often joked and flippantly said we were “poor” but we are not! Things are tight but God has given us so much!
Beyond the basic essentials (and a lot of not so essential things) we are rich in the things money can not buy. We have lots of family that shower us in love. We have some amazing friends…. tried and true friends! They speak truth in to our lives, give out of love, share life with us and continually draw us closer to the Lord! We have an amazing, wonderful and healthy son! He brings us more joy than should be allowed : ) There is peace in our home. Yes, things are chaotic and stressful at times but there is peace. This is a gift only Jesus can give. We also have a marriage grounded in Christ, not making us immune from struggles. Yet, we have a strong anchor to hold on to and a firm foundation beneath us. Our family is also learning a valuable lesson from God on contentment. “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.” -Phil. 4:12-13
We have gifts and blessings in our life that are truly priceless! I will take those over margin in our bank account any day! God is good!
I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints,” -Ephesians 1: 17-18

2 Comments on “We are rich!”

  1. Jenny Tuggle says:

    Please know that you are a blessing to others and you bring riches to us as well!! GOD is going to continue to bless y’all!

  2. Heidi says:

    It’s quite amazing seeing Australia & New Zealand which are quite westernized nations, yet there are subtle ways that they aren’t nearly as “spoiled” as we are – their homes aren’t really decorated & everything is quite simple. It really does help give me perspective on how much “stuff” I have. Thanks for your blog, too – such a great reminder!


Leave a Reply

