Baby Battles

My #1 struggle has be contentment. I don’t think I will ever conquer it : ). I continually fight the desire to dwell on the past or place too much hope in the future.
I remember (about 5 years ago actually….goodness time flies) longing and wanting to get married so bad. God sat me down in Psalm 37 for awhile. I read it every morning for a couple of months. I learned so much through that scripture about contentment!
I still go back there regularly and God refreshes me with more truth!
Now I am a Mommy and my battle with contentment does not just affect me but my son. I feel like I blinked and he turned one. I know time won’t be kind and slow down in the future either! He is growing up to fast and if I don’t get my head out of the clouds I will miss it!
I found a beautiful poem today. I want to savor my time TODAY with my sweet little boy. I want God to use it. And I want to enjoy it!

Song for a Fifth Child.

Mother, O Mother, come shake out your cloth,
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing, make up the bed,
Sew on a button and butter the bread.

Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown as shiftless as Little Boy Blue,
Lullabye, rockabye, lullabye loo.
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo

The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo
Look! Aren’t his eyes the most wonderful hue?
Lullabye, rockaby lullabye loo.

The cleaning and scrubbing can wait till tomorrow
But children grow up as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down cobwebs; Dust go to sleep!
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

I stole this from McMama’s site. Love her blog! Check it out!
5212_1085370621691_1449161151_30252214_4749603_n

2 Comments on “Baby Battles”

  1. Mimi says:

    I have always quoted those last few lines. I have always believed that a clean house is nice, but never nicer than loving on babies! They grow up too fast!Make memories when you can knowing they will remember their times spent with you!They will not remember if they had a clean house growing up.
    Love you, Mimi

  2. Tricia says:

    Oh, neat! I have that last verse of the poem in a picture over my washer and dryer! It’s a hard balance – taking care of little ones, keeping a house, feeding everyone and being content – but somehow the Lord just gives us grace in every area 🙂 Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

