Psalm 37

I continually revisit this chapter in Psalms. Every time I study it God shows me something new. I thought I would just kinda jot down what I am reading and learning. (Blogging helps me process : )
v.1 “Do not fret because of evildoers, Be not envious toward wrongdoers”
cross references- Prb. 23:17 Prb. 24:19 Psalm Ps. 73:3 Prb. 3:31
This verse hits me hard right off. I am prone to compare my life or situation with everyone else. A lot of times I get jealous of those not following God because their life seems so much easier. I loved the cross reference Prvb. 23:17. It says, “…but live in reverence of the Lord all day.” In the margin of my Bible it describes “reverence” to mean “presence”. “…But live in the presence of the Lord all day”. Hmmmm…. what can I do to be in His presence all day?

v.2 “For they will wither quickly like the grass and fade like the green herb.”
cross references- Job14:2, Ps. 90:6, Ps. 92:7, James 1:11, Ps. 129:6
Take a look at these references. All point back to the reality that man’s (righteous and unrighteous) days are numbered. Our life is “here today gone tomorrow” so to speak. It is a breath. It is short. I really want to wrap my 24 year old brain around that! We are not promised tomorrow. And even if we do get many more tomorrows, the time is short in comparison to all eternity…. do I live as if that is true?

v.3 ” Trust in the Lord and do good; Dwell in the land and cultivate righteousness.”
cross reference- Ps. 62:8, Duet 30:20, Is. 40:11, Ezek. 34:13,14
This is one of my all time favorite verses! I always want to get ahead… plan ahead… dream of what’s ahead or hope in what’s ahead. Instead God says “trust me” about what is ahead and “dwell” right where you are! The margin of my Bible also has the definition for the word translated as “cultivate righteousness” to mean “feed securely on His faithfulness”. Oh how I cling to that one! Isaiah 40:11 and Ezekiel 34:13,14 are verses describing God’s shepherd like nature. These verses were so good to read!
Am I trusting Him? Am I acknowledging and finding security in what He has done for me? Am I dwelling in the land He has given me right now?

v.4 “Delight yourself in the Lord and do good; And He will give you the desires of your heart.”
cross references-Job 22:26, Psalm 94:19, Is. 58:14, Ps. 21:2, Ps. 145:19, Matt 7:7,8
Oh, the ever so mis-quoted verse! This verse is far from getting what you want from a genie like God. Take a look at the cross references and line up this verse in context to the rest of the chapter and you will see it is about surrender. The preceding verses flow into this one to me…. Don’t fret because of those who are doing things their own way. Everybody’s days are numbered. Trust Me! Live and abide right where I have placed you. Don’t be scared just look at all I have done. Take delight in what I have done and who I am! Do Good! And I will give you the desire s of your heart. (that is my paraphrase).
Some one wise once told me, “God does not give us what we want, He gives us what we really really want.” What we really want, what we may not realize, is Him. Because He is good. He is our Creator and He designed us to be fulfilled by Him alone. The true desires of our heart we may not even realize ourselves.

I am clinging to that Truth right now. We are in a hard place financially, emotionally, and spiritually. I am clinging to the truth that I can trust the God who formed my heart and knows my true desires. I will leave the giving to Him and focus instead on living in His presence all day, dwelling where He has placed me and trusting and…. oh yeah… not comparing myself to others!

Leave a Reply

