Apartment life with kids

I have never lived in an apartment. I certainly never thought I would live in an apartment with two kids. But this is what works best for us right now and surprisingly it works really well! I have actually really enjoyed our time here. We have a two bedroom apartment. Making all our stuff (especially Trey and Ella’s) is like a giant puzzle. I am constantly rearranging and trying to figure out better ways to organize. I kinda like it though. I like a good challenge! So, I am sharing some ideas.
Here is Trey’s ( and kind of Ella’s) room. I hate white!!! But we are on a short lease so I didn’t want to go through the red tape to paint. My solution: scrapbook paper


I just used scrapbook paper I already had. Most of it came from the same “book”. I traced letters and cut them out. Simple. I used little bitty picture nails to hang them up, making smaller holes that normal nails.
These are pretty self explanatory. I used a clothes line to hang clothes and fabric to make a book book area. I really had no theme in this room besides “childhood”. I just wanted color and fun…. instead of white walls.

Another tip: I use EVERY bit of useable space in this place. There is a hallway leading to Trey’s room. I have a dry erase board and his crafts hanging here. This is where we do crafts and such. It actually works really well!

I forgot where I got this idea… a magazine I think. These bins where a little over a dollar at Walmart. I took pictures of the toys and then taped them to scrapbook paper. I then put clear duck tape on top to “laminate” them. Of coarse you could really laminate instead of my pathetic, redneck attempt at it : )


Oh an by the way… my mom and I found this bookshelf at IKEA in the clearance center for $18! It was originally priced at $80! Talk about a deal! Always check out the clearance center! Every time I go I get a deal. The fabric in my bedroom came from there too. I got 4 curtain panels for $2 a piece. So I basically go window treatments and ended up making pillow cases for $8! I love bargains!

This one is very unconventional but once again it works for us! We were planning on putting Ella in a pack-n-play in our room. I tossed and turned over this one. Trey slept in his crib from day one. It worked great! He did go through a phase where he slept with us but it was after he woke up in the middle of the night at 3 or 4am. He’s never slept the whole night in our room. I am weird about my room. I like my space. I love my children but I don’t want them in my room or bed.
So we have a really big closet with an air condition vent and electrical outlet. We actually decided to convert half of it into her “room”. Most of her clothes and all are in Trey’s closet. This is a place for her to sleep in peace and it was a place I could decorate “girly”.
Anyway, it is a temporary solution. When she is sleeping through the night she will share a room with Trey. Hopefully she will be like her brother and that will be in 6-8 weeks. But until then I think she will like it here. I actually goggled “nursery in a closet” and found we were not the only crazy people out there to do this!

5 Comments on “Apartment life with kids”

  1. Kim says:

    I know someone who has a 3 yr old and she sleeps in the closet she’s even got a younger sibling 6 kids no 2 bedroom…they’re actually moving ths week! Soph is 9 months and is in our room. AG sleeps in the crib she can get out but her night terrors make me need therapy so she’s staying put till I get counseling! Looks great!

  2. Tricia says:

    You are so smart! What great use of space – each and every idea. Love the scrapbook paper letters. And the clothes line – with real clothes. Inspiring me to purge and reorganize. AND the closet nursery. She has her own perfect spot.

    Makes me want to come play. Praying for y’all. For your growing, blessed family 🙂

  3. Kerri says:

    I love all your creative ideas. You really make use of your space. It’s functional and pleasing to look at – my favorite combination!

    And don’t feel bad about the closet. Ella will feel nice and cozy. We had friends who ‘converted’ a laundry room into a room for their daughter and it worked out great!

  4. Kerri says:

    Oh and can you believe that I still haven’t been to Ikea? I am embarrassed to admit it, but it’s probably a good thing since I’d want everything 🙂

  5. Candy says:

    I love your ideas. I had a friend who used a closet for a crib room. Congratulations!!


Leave a Reply

