Bedtime Book Basket

I am not sure where I got this idea… maybe a stroke of genesis…. probably not!
I started this when Trey was about 6 months old. I put a basket of books and toys in his crib. When he was younger I tied it to the side of the rail. Now I just place the small basket in the corner of his crib. I fill it with little books, cars or soft little toys.
Anyway, this has proved to be a WONDERFUL thing for us! Most days when I put him down for a nap he sits and reads. He usually falls asleep by reading. In the am he usually wakes up and plays for about 30 mins before crying out for me to come get him. This was particularly wonderful when I was pregnant and exhausted!
It has given him an interest in books and love for literature, gives me a little extra time during the day and teaches him to play on his own!
Just thought I would share : )

3 Comments on “Bedtime Book Basket”

  1. Monica says:

    I started putting soft books, a stuffed friend or two, and maybe 1 more soft toy in Cole’s crib … just at the foot… when he was about….hmmm….8 months old maybe. He plays with the stuff when he wakes up too. He will talk to himself and play for about 30 minutes before I get him. Cole also loves books, but I don’t think it has anything to do with the ones in his bed. I’ve read to him daily since he was born (well and before) and a few weeks ago he started bringing books to me. It was a very proud day!! He LOVES them!! I’m so thankful for a little “reader”!! Can’t wait to see those sweet babies next week!!!!

  2. I know! I never thought Trey was really paying attention… and now recently he has been “reading” to himself and reading to me. Hopefully he will love reading! I do : )

  3. Aimee says:

    I do this with mine too and it is wonderful. It takes Tanner a really long time to fall asleep and he will play and read books for sometimes a couple of hours at night, but he is quiet in his bed so it doesn’t really bother me too much.


Leave a Reply

