At my wit’s end…

This has been a trying week for me as a mom of a strong willed toddler! He is acting out for a lot of different reasons… he looses his temper… I loose mine… it hasn’t been pretty. I am still learning as a mom. I am barely in my second year of it!
I have had to apologize to Trey many times and just start over.

Any way I found this and thought it was good!

From GrirlTalk blog
Filed under Biblical Womanhood Fear Motherhood Series Current Series
“I cried to thee, O Lord.” Ps. 30:8

“Prayer is the unfailing resource of the anxious mother,” to paraphrase Charles Spurgeon:

“If they are driven to their wits’ end, they may still go to the mercy-seat….Let us never forget to pray, and let us never doubt the success of prayer… Mirth and carnal amusements are a sorry prescription for a mind distracted and despairing. Prayer will succeed where all else fails.”

We are often “at our wits’ end” with our children. We feel like we’ve tried everything and we don’t know what else to do. So we worry: Will my toddler never stop throwing temper tantrums? Will my teenager ever open up to me again? Will my children ever turn to Christ?

But instead of worrying, we are to cry to the Lord on behalf of our children. We must not forget to pray. And we must believe that prayer works: it will succeed where all our mothering efforts fail.

What worries do you need to bring to the mercy-seat today?

“They…were at their wits’ end. Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress.” Ps. 107:27, 28

(adapted from the archives)

Leave a Reply

