Despondency

I have now entered in to Exodus in my journey through the Bible. I love this story of God’s deliverance! Once again, God has me exactly where I need to be in His Word.
In Exodus 6 God instructs Moses to tell the Israelites that God is going to deliver them. “So Moses spoke thus to the sons of Israel, but they did not listen to Moses on account of their despondency and cruel bondage.” Exodus 6:9.
The word “despondency” stood out to me. Dictionary.com defines despondency as “a state of low spirits caused by loss of hope or courage”. Have you ever been there? Even in this “joyous” holiday season, do you find yourself low of spirits, hopeless, despondent? I can relate with the Isrealites. We too have been crying out to the Lord in several areas of our life but some days I too feel hopeless and low… like maybe God forgot or does not hear our cry.
But here is what the Lord comforted me with this morning. Regardless of how the Isrealites felt, He was listening. He had heard their cry and He had a plan! And He alone put that plan of deliverance into action!(Exodus 6:5-6)
Despite our feelings, bad days and disbelief, God is still in control! He is still listening and He is still working His plan!

photo by:mollyburkettphotography

Leave a Reply

