Dear Savannah,

Dear Savannah,
It is almost spring time and I miss you more than I ever imagined I would! Your spanish moss lined trees, worn brick buildings, and blooming azaleas are a breath taking beauty no other city can copy.
I miss your salty air.
I miss seeing seagulls fly overhead at the grocery store.
I miss the slower pace.
I miss my sandy backyard.
I even miss your unseasonably warm temperatures.

It was on your sandy floors I watched my son grow from a baby to a little boy.
It was in your hospital I met my baby girl for the first time.
where I walked a hundred miles with a precious friend.
where I ate a lot of delicious food.
where I enjoyed hanging out with some amazing people on a weekly basis.
It was at your movie theater, school and Y I watched God work.
where I served food.
painted doors.
handed out bikes.
passed out flyers.
knocked on doors.
passed out meals.
invited and invested….

I miss your mystery.
difficulty.
trial.
and even your darkness…. because it taught me to seek the Light.

It was in you the Lord taught me to be brave.
to be strong.
to endure.
to persevere.
to trust Him even when I don’t feel Him.
humility.
brokenness.

It wasn’t an immediate love. It was a learned and fought for love. You are not an easy city to love. But once the love begins it is lasting.
Through the grace of God I love this city!
And I miss you!

May the love and mercy of God pour forth!

For I will pour out water on the thirsty land And streams on the dry ground ; I will pour out My Spirit on your offspring And My blessing on your descendants Isaiah 44:3

.

One Comment on “Dear Savannah,”

  1. Kerri says:

    That was so lovely, Trisha. Made me tear up.


Leave a Reply

