Yet, I will praise Him!

Some days are just blah….. A friend of mine had her status the other day as “throwing a pity party. Anyone is welcome to join.” I love her and I wanted to join the party! I was having one of those days as well! Once I start the pity it cycles and cycles downward until I am in an all out funk!

5 Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and 6 my God. My soul is downcast within me; therefore I will remember you from the land of the Jordan, the heights of Hermon–from Mount Mizar. 7 Deep calls to deep in the roar of your waterfalls; all your waves and breakers have swept over me. 8 By day the LORD directs his love, at night his song is with me– a prayer to the God of my life. 9 I say to God my Rock, “Why have you forgotten me? Why must I go about mourning, oppressed by the enemy?” 10 My bones suffer mortal agony as my foes taunt me, saying to me all day long, “Where is your God?” 11 Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.

Psalm 42

Tonight, I pulled out my trusted prayer journal. I started to write but then decided to flip back and look at the last couple of weeks. It was the same thing over and over. I decided to sit down and list praises to the Lord instead. When you are in that pity mood its hard to get started. Once, I got going I filled two pages in my journal. My heart and focus was shifted from myself to the Lord. He is good!

Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God

Leave a Reply

