“Bless my enemies….”

A friend shared this link, When you’ve been wounded, cheated, disappointed and heart-broken, the other day. It is a wonderful blog with wonderful perspective. She included this beautiful prayer I just had to share:

Bless my enemies, O Lord. Even I bless them and do not curse them.
Enemies have driven me into your embrace more than friends have.
Enemies have loosed me from earth more than friends have…
Enemies have made me a hunted animal, finding safer shelter than an unhunted animal does.

I found safest sanctuary in You…may too my enemies-made-grace.
I found greatest grace in You… may my enemies-made-grace find Your generous grace alive and radical in me.
I found fullest forgiveness in You… may my enemies-made-grace find faith and freedom in You and Your forgiveness working surprising ways in me.

The longer I walk with you, Lord, I find I have no enemies: only your gift of chisels etching me deep.
Bless my enemies, O Lord. Even I bless them and do not curse them.

I love this! It reminds me of something the Lord is teaching me right now: my enemies, trials, heartbreak, shattered dreams and disappointments are the very things that lead me to the cross! They have made me seek the Lord, ask questions I never thought I would, know and study my Bible and cry on my Heavenly Father’s shoulder. For that reason alone I can look at them with praise and thanksgiving! They bad has lead me to what is so good!

O taste and see that the LORD is good; How blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him!” Psalm 34:8

Leave a Reply

