Pouting

I think I’m going to stop pouting now.

I don’t know about you but my life has not gone exactly how I planned it to go. I can’t help but be confused and even disappointed at times. In the best way we knew/know how, my husband and I have trusted our lives and plans to the Lord. He keeps, however, taking us down paths we never intended to go and removing things from our lives that we really liked.

Before I lead you to think that God is a mean god,let me share something I have learned along the way. I think a lot of times when we surrender our lives to Christ we assume his plans are basically our plans. I’d even say we assume God’s plans are much like the “American Dream”. But unfortunately,that is not the case.

“So then, none of you can be My disciple who does not give up all of His own posessions.” Luke 14:33

Anyway, rather I want to admit it or not, I think I have been pouting because the path God has led me down was not the path I would have chosen. Basically in short, I have not been trusting He knows what is best. I have been pouting.

So what made me snap out of it? This truth:

“The Lord is not slow about His promise, as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing for any to perish but for all to come to repentance. But the day of the Lord will come like a thief, in which the heavens will pass away with a roar and the elements will be destroyed with intense heat, and the earth and its works will be burned up.” II Peter 3:9-10

[Forgive my irreverence] The problem is, no matter how mad I have gotten at the Lord, I can not deny Him! I have had some very very low moments in my life. I have had some dark nights but His presence is too real! To deny our relationship and His Presence in my life (all be it confusing at times) would be like denying the existence of my husband. He is my comforter, my strength and most of all a very real friend.

He is real and if I accept that Truth, I must accept the Truth that He is coming back. And if He is coming back then there is just simply no time to pout. (There’s a good transitive property for ya!)

I don’t understand why I had to give up a ministry I loved, lay down my career and move away from a city that I grew to love deeply. I can choose to pout about it the rest of my life or I can choose to get over it, stop pouting and trust in His ways. I’m going to choose to trust Him…. there is not time for anything else!

One Comment on “Pouting”

  1. I can totally relate! I was thinking the same thing last night– so while I am currently grieving the loss of the family I thought I was going to have, I am choosing to trust God in spite of the fact my heart does not feel like trusting His plan at the moment. Thank you for sharing! You have a beautiful heart!


Leave a Reply

