How to maintain your humanity as a Stay-at-Home-Mom:

I love my babies! It is an insane privilege I have to be able to be with them day in and day out. I haven’t missed a single milestone, I have been able to wipe most of their tears, cuddle on sick days, run and play on good days. I do love my job. If I had to work every day I would drown myself in tears by the time I got to work. There is no where I would rather be at this stage in my life and my kid’s life. BUT! I will be the first to admit the day in and day out responsibilities of taking care of two kids can get me down. Some days the walls of my home start to close in on me. I think I might loose my mind if I hear another breath of whining, look around at my disaster mess of a house and realize its only 9am! Being a stay at home mom is not like being on vacation 24/7. It’s not like “having a day off” because its what I do everyday. If I am not careful, it can become very de-humanizing. I start to feel like a dishrag. I forget who I am, what I am passionate about and I forget who I was before I had my babies.
I believe its important not to loose myself in motherhood because one day these babies aren’t going to be babies anymore. They are going to leave and not need me as much one day far too soon. For my marriage and my relationship with the Lord, I feel its important to remember who I am.
As a mom (stay-at-home or not), I don’t believe we hang our identities at the door. We should not change our music taste to Veggietales hits or Justin Bieber (although his music so stinkin’ catchy!). Our latest fashion should not be this years VBS shirt and our Pinterest boards should encompass more than crafts and kid friendly recipes! We were “fearfully and wonderfully made” before we were blessed with children and after!
I am in no way an expert on this! This is something the Lord is walking me through. Over the next couple of days I am going to share some tips that work for me. I pray you might be encouraged not to hide behind your children but yet remember and embrace who you are!

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”
Psalm 139:13-14

Leave a Reply

